GarrettCom Home
About GarrettCom   News Contact Us How To Buy
  • Power Utilities
  • Surveillance and Security
  • Transportation
  • Factory Automation
  • Telecommunications
  • Water Treatment
  • Managed Switches
  • Unmanaged Switches
  • Routers
  • Serial Communications
  • Media Converters
  • Cyber Security
  • Mila in Iceland
  • Data Connect WiFi
  • Pine Tree Networks
  • Elastic Networks DSL
  • Broadnet France
  • BellSouth
  • Valley Telephone
  • Choice One Comm.
  • About Us
  • News
  • How to Buy
  • Tech Support
  • Marketing Materials
    1. What is NEBS?

    2. What is ETSI?

    3. Why is NEBS and ETSI testing important?

    4. What is NEBS testing based on?

    5. What does NEBS Level 3 Certified mean?

    6. What is the GR-63-CORE standard?

    7. What is the GR-1089-CORE standard?
    1.  What is NEBS?

    NEBS is an acronym for Network Equipment Building System. NEBS has established requirements also known as “NEBS criteria.” NEBS testing is required for vendors that sell networking products to Competitive Local Exchange Carriers (CLECs) and Incumbent Local Exchange Carriers (ILECs). 


    2.  What is ETSI?

    ETSI is the European Telecommunications Standards Institute, which establishes the telecommunications standards in Europe. 


    3.  Why is NEBS and ETSI testing important?

    An electronic device is capable of interfering with other electronic devices through connecting wires, due to high temperature conditions, electromagnetic radiation, and/or grounding system. 

    In the telecommunications world, networking equipment is heavily used in central office environments. In this space, it is critical to utilize networking equipment, which is mission-critical, highly-reliable, and does not cause any interference.

     NEBS testing proves whether the networking equipment qualifies for these mission-critical applications and guarantees that the equipment will perform safe and flawless operation. 


    4.  What is NEBS testing based on?

    NEBS testing is based on the Telcordia (Bellcore) standard reliability testing methods.


    5.  What does NEBS Level 3 Certified mean?

    NEBS has three levels, Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3. Level 1 refers to cases where minimum compatibility with the environment is needed. Level 2 applies for limited operability of the product. 

    Finally, NEBS Level 3 certification guarantees the maximum operability of the equipment. It also certifies that the equipment will perform well in harsh environmental conditions and will not interfere with other electronic devices around. NEBS Level 3 certified networking equipment is vital in mission-critical applications. 

    To learn more about Magnum products that are NEBS Level 3 Certified, click here.


    6. What is GR-63-CORE? GR-63-CORE (Central Office Relay Equipment) is a standard for network switching systems. The GR-63 parts included in the NEBS testing involve:

    • Spatial Requirements
    • Environmental Criteria
    • Temperature, Humidity, and Altitude Criteria
    • Fire Resistance
    • Equipment Handling Criteria
    • Earthquake, Office Vibration, and Transportation Vibration
    • Airborne Contaminants
    • Acoustic Noise
    • Illumination


    7.What is  GR-1089-CORE?

    GR-1089-CORE is a standard for Emissions Control (EMC) and Electrical Safety. It involves:

    • System-level Electrostatic Discharge
    • Electromagnetic Interference
    • Lightning and AC Power Fault
    • Electrical Safety Criteria
    • Bonding and Grounding